A reveiw of “Endurance: A Novel of Terror” by J.A. Konrath

Posted to Amazon and Goodreads in February 2013

Not bad. Pretty typical crazy family horror but not bad at all.

 

I was first exposed to Jack Kilborn with the kindle single “Serial” that he wrote with Blake Crouch, and I have to admit I was not impressed. This story was an improvement.

Set in the hills of West Virginia, Endurance tells the story of Eleanor Roosevelt, a Presidential obsessed woman and the owner of the Rushmore Inn. The inn, hidden far off the beatin’ path, is filled with presidential kitsch and memorabilia. Ms. Roosevelt will even tell you that she is a direct descendant of Theodore Roosevelt and she has aspirations of one of her children one day occupying the oval office. What she will not tell you is that she and her family are running the inn for a purpose more sinister than lodging contestants of the yearly Iron Woman competition.

While the book read like a typical “crazy family” horror story, (think Texas Chainsaw Massacre or The Hills Have Eyes) I surprisingly did not find it cliche. In fact, the book had more twists than a NASCAR road course and kept me on my toes for the entire read wondering when the next “family member” would make themselves known.

I can’t say that I loved it, but it was good. I’m glad I gave this author a second read.

Leave a Reply

